25 HCPS educators earned national board certification in 2022, the most of any Virginia school division

NOTE: This news release has been updated to include an additional teacher who renewed her certification for 2022. 

Henrico, Va., Feb. 13, 2023 — Certification from the National Board for Professional Teaching Standards is the profession’s highest mark of accomplishment. This year, 25 Henrico County Public Schools educators met that remarkable standard. In addition to those earning national certification status for the first time, 15 teachers renewed their certifications. The group of newly board-certified HCPS teachers is the largest of any Virginia school division this year. Nationally, just 15 divisions had more teachers reach the standard. HCPS led such large school systems as New York City, Philadelphia and San Francisco.

“This is one of the largest groups of new board-certified teachers the division has celebrated,” said Drew Baker of HCPS’ Department of Professional Learning and Leadership, who helps coach teachers through the process. “The part we are most proud of is that many of these teachers began their process during the instructional challenges of pandemic teaching. They are a very special group of dedicated educators and Henrico is lucky to have them working with students.”

Becoming certified by the national nonprofit group is a rigorous process. Teachers must submit detailed portfolios to be reviewed by their peers. The portfolios include videos of the candidates teaching, documented professional accomplishments, reflective essays and examples of student work. Teachers must also pass an exam relevant to his or her subject and level of instruction.

The teachers will be recognized in a pinning ceremony later this month, along with teachers from the city of Richmond and the counties of Chesterfield, Hanover and Powhatan.

HCPS teachers earning certification in 2022 from the National Board for Professional Teaching Standards:

  • Laura Summers, Chamberlayne E.S.
  • Erika Giorgis, Crestview E.S.
  • Jill Harrell, Gayton E.S.
  • Victoria Swartz, Gayton E.S.
  • Tricia Conlon, Greenwood E.S.
  • Maura Farmer, Greenwood E.S.
  • Mandi Green, Greenwood E.S.
  • Heidi Juan, Elizabeth Holladay E.S.
  • Jennifer Murphy, Maybeury E.S.
  • Catherine Szyperski, Maybeury E.S.
  • Homira Raonaq, Ridge E.S.
  • Elizabeth Myers, Rivers Edge E.S.
  • Katie Dohrman, Shady Grove E.S.
  • Elizabeth Raines, Shady Grove E.S.
  • Faviola Austin, Twin Hickory E.S.
  • Lauren Rice, Henry Ward E.S.
  • Abbey Warren, Holman M.S.
  • Sarah DeLaney, Holman M.S.
  • Kathryn Hershberger, Pocahontas M.S.
  • Amy Moore, Deep Run H.S.
  • Lynne Norris, Deep Run H.S.
  • Abbie Allen, Glen Allen H.S.
  • William Healy, Hermitage H.S.
  • Dawn Sherwood, Highland Springs H.S.
  • Joan Tique, J.R. Tucker H.S.

HCPS teachers recognized for renewing their certification:

  • Sara White, Jackson Davis E.S.
  • Megan Bouton, Echo Lake E.S.
  • Erin Franklin, Echo Lake E.S.
  • Donna Marshall, Lakeside E.S.
  • Sara McCotter, Raymond Pinchbeck E.S.
  • Kristine Remudaro, Springfield Park E.S.
  • Mindy Meador, Holman M.S.
  • Nathan Shotwell, Holman M.S.
  • Jenny Smith, Quioccasin M.S.
  • Ashley Byers, L. Douglas Wilder M.S.
  • Hattie Smart, Deep Run H.S.
  • Tiffany Floyd, Douglas Freeman H.S.
  • Kathy Ferrell, Hermitage H.S.
  • Anne-Marie Slinkman, J.R. Tucker H.S.
  • Shannon Wakefield, Central Office 

The 25 newly certified teachers were supported during the process by HCPS educators who had previously attained certification. The mentors facilitated monthly cohort meetings and provided coaching to candidates. Facilitators were Megan Bouton, Diane Sharpe and Laura van Bylandt.