Henrico, Va., Jan. 11, 2019 – Eleven Henrico Schools teachers achieved certification from the National Board for Professional Teaching Standards in 2018, the profession’s highest mark of accomplishment. Six additional Henrico teachers renewed their certifications.
Becoming certified is a rigorous process. Teachers must submit detailed portfolios to be reviewed by their peers. The portfolios include videos of the candidates teaching, documented professional accomplishments, reflective essays and examples of student work. Teachers must also must pass an exam relevant to his or her subject and level of instruction.
The teachers were recognized in a pinning ceremony Jan. 10 at VCU’s Vlahcevic Concert Hall along with teachers from the city of Richmond and the counties of Chesterfield and Hanover. 
The newly certified teachers from Henrico County Public Schools are:
– Katie Bookbinder, Henrico High School/Hermitage High School 
– Kiri Evans, Pocahontas Middle School
– Kent Givens, Glen Allen High School
– Michelle Grubbs, Short Pump Middle School
– Katelyn Martin, L. Douglas Wilder Middle School 
– W. Scott Mewborn, Glen Allen High School
– Kristina Mitchell, George H. Moody Middle School 
– Laurel Roeder, Arthur Ashe Jr. Elementary School 
– Diane Sharpe, Arthur Ashe Jr. Elementary School
– Karen Stein, Ratcliffe Elementary School
– Katherine Woodard, Echo Lake Elementary School
Henrico teachers recognized for renewing their certification included:
– Christine Gay, New Bridge Learning Center
– Rebecca Hodell, HCPS Central Office
– Joan Hodges, George H. Moody Middle School
– Laurie Kaplan, Douglas S. Freeman High School
– Angela Layne, Douglas S. Freeman High School 
– Nancy Wallace, Jackson Davis Elementary School
Photo caption: Henrico Schools teachers gather Jan. 10 at a pinning ceremony at VCU. Eleven Henrico teachers attained certification from the National Board for Professional Teaching Standards and six others renewed their certifications. Standing are Christine Gay; Kristina Mitchell; Karen Stein, Kaitlin Bookbinder; Diane Sharpe; Beth Teigen, assistant superintendent for instruction; Laurel Roeder; W. Scott Mewborn; Kent Givens; and Nancy Wallace; Seated are Michelle Grubbs; Kiri Evans; Katelyn Martin; Katherine Woodard; Laurie Kaplan; and Joan Hodges. Rebecca Hodell and Angela Layne are not pictured.